December 4th, 2011

Bonaire win ABCS Tournament

Bonaire became the unlikely champions of the 2nd ABCS Tournament tonight as the beat Aruba 4-3 on penalty kicks after the match had finished 2-2. Kenneth Kunst opened the scored for Bonaire in the 34th minute and Rolando Janzen extended that lead in the 45th minute. Aruba, who started the match with the same lineup that beat Suriname on Friday, equalized with goals from Jean-Luc Bergen (52′) and Frederick Gomez (76′) early in the second half. With the Tournament not using extra time, the match went to penalty kicks where Raymond Baten, who converted his penalty in the win over Suriname on Friday, missed Aruba’s first penalty. Jean-Luc Bergen, Erik Santos de Gouveia, and Annuar Kock all then converted their spot kicks but Frederick Gomez could not score his penalty as he did on Friday, and Bonaire, who do not have much of a pedigree in international football and came last in the 2010 ABCS Tournament, were crowned champions.

In the 3rd Place match, which took place prior to this one, previous champions Suriname won 2-0.

Match facts (as Bonaire have no affiliation this match is unofficial):




Aruba 2 – 2* Bonaire
ABCS Tournament
December 4th, 2011
Dr. Ir. Franklin Essed Stadion, Paramaribo, Suriname


Jean-Luc Bergen (52′) Kenneth Kunst (34′)
Frederick Gomez (76′) Rolando Janzen (45′)


Starting 11s

Eric Abdul Rugenio Josephia
Carlos Quandt Genaro Cicilia
Ricangel de Lecca Rolando Janzen
Reinhard Breinburg Matias Jaurretche
Raymond Baten Ruvelio Josephia
Ronnie Nouwen Andre Piar
Maurice Escalona Raymiro Coffie
Frederick Gomez Deffery Banton
Annuar Kock Kenneth Kunst
Erik Santos de Gouveia Rhendeson Tomasa
Jean-Luc Bergen Ashar Bernardus



Jefferson Vegas for Reinhard Breinburg (49′) Ivanny Calvenhoven for Deffery Banton (62′)
Jean-Polle Tromp for Maurice Escalona (82′) Leonard Coffie for Andre Piar (72′)
Berjantico Emerenciana for Genaro Cicilia (74′)


Unused Substitutes

Jeanpierre Fingal Unknown/To Come
Dwaynalex Raven
Raymbert Bikker
Juan Santos
Shemuel Koolman



Erik Santos de Gouveia (Yellow, 41′) Ruvelio Josephia (Yellow, 48′)
Rolando Janzen (Yellow, 61′)
Ruvelio Josephia (Yellow, 90′ (S/O))



Epi Albertus Arturo Charles


Notes: Thanks to Steve Torres for the match information.

Penalties (Aruba shot first):

Aruba: Raymond Baten (M), Jean-Luc Bergen (G), Erik Santos de Gouveia (G), Annuar Kock (G), Frederick Gomez (M)

Bonaire: Ashar Bernardus (G), Rolando Janzen (G), Ivanny Calvenhoven (G), Rhendeson Tomasa (G)

Referee: Enrico Wijngaarde (Suriname)