2 Surprising Football Rules You Might Now Know

2 Surprising Football Rules You Might Now Know

Throw-in Rules in Football that Supporters Should Know

Football is a highly regulated sport—one of them, the throw-in. The player whose team gets the opportunity to make a throw-in cannot carelessly throw the ball into the court to start play again.

There are standard rules outlined by FIFA for players who want to throw-in. They must face the field and the player who will receive the ball. The player’s two feet must be on the line or off the court. Their feet are also obliged to touch the ground.

Throw-in Soccer Rules

Next, the throwing process. The player’s hands must be above their head when swinging from behind. The process is carried out at the point where the ball first leaves the field. The referee is allowed to make a decision to repeat or give a throw to the opposing party if it does not comply with the provisions.

In addition, the opposing player must be at least two meters from the pitcher. If an opposing player blocks or ignores these rules, the referee has the right to reprimand or give a yellow card.

Throw-in also does not recognize the offside. Based on these regulations, a player like Ronaldinho scored a goal when he received a throw-in when he was still in Atletico Mineiro’s uniform against Sao Paulo. At that time, he pretended to go to the opponent’s goal to ask Rogerio Ceni a drink. After drinking, the ball came to him on the left flank of the Sao Paulo defense. The distance from the Sao Paulo defender is 13 meters. Ronaldinho then sent across to the mouth of the goal which his colleague executed.

Another provision is that the thrower must not touch the ball again before touching another player, either an opponent or teammate. If violated, the penalty is an indirect free kick. If it touches the ball after it is on the court, the player is declared a handball.

Another fact is that throwers can make bounce throws. This means that the player deliberately bounces the ball towards the opposing player to return to himself to immediately resume the game.

Throw in soccer rules

Throw-ins also have a rule when the result of a throw goes into the goal. When this case occurs, the ball that enters the goal is declared invalid if no player hits the ball first. If the ball goes into the net itself, the referee has the right to designate a corner. If this happens in the opponent’s goal, the policy is to give a goal kick.

The Golden Goal and the Silver Goal Have Appeared in Football

Extra time, aka extra rounds, is very common in soccer rules. But, before we heard about the extension of time to the end of the popular penalty today, FIFA once initiated the golden goal rule to the silver goal.

Football lovers from the 1990s to the early millennial era must have known the golden goal concept, also known as sudden death. FIFA and UEFA have applied this rule in several championships. The rule appears when the two teams who undergo the match 90 minutes experience a draw. After that, an additional time of 30 minutes (2×15 minutes) is applied.

Also read: The Birth of FIFA, International Football Federation

Golden Goal and Silver Goal

When the golden goal concept is used, the team that scores the first goal in the extra round no longer needs to finish the match. They have been declared the winner. It was different from the silver goal. The winner in this system is determined after one of the teams has successfully defended the winning goal during overtime.

The golden goal that FIFA has implemented since 1993 has claimed many victims. At that time, FIFA argued for choosing the golden goal as a rule in the hope that the two teams would play more attacking in the extra rounds. Unfortunately, the concept suffers from the opposite fact. Both teams actually tend to play defensively in the hope of avoiding this stifling defeat.

The situation makes football seem negative, for example, in the 1996 European Cup. This tournament also applied a golden goal when the two teams drew 90 minutes. Of the seven matches in the knockout phase, only one was decided by the golden goal. Uniquely, the golden goal came in the final match when Germany met the Czech Republic. Oliver Bierhoff was named the first player to score a golden goal while helping Der Panzer to win the 1996 European Cup.

The golden goal is still the standard rule applied by FIFA after that. Evidently, this rule was still part of the 1998 World Cup in France. At the tournament, Laurent Blanc was the first person to score a golden goal at the World Cup. Blanc scored the golden goal as France faced Paraguay in the last 16.

Best remembered about the golden goal was David Trezeguet’s goal. The former Juventus striker destroyed Italy’s dreams in the 2000 European Cup final. After a 1-1 draw until a normal time, Trezeguet appeared as a savior in the extra round to win this prestigious trophy.

The golden goal was still the star at the 2002 World Cup in South Korea and Japan. Italy again felt the golden goal system’s bitterness after South Korean striker, Ahn Jung-hwan, knocked Gli Azzurri out in the last 16.

Jung-hwan was not the only player who scored the golden goal at the tournament. This is because the Turkish player, Ilham Mansiz, also did the same thing when he knocked out Senegal in the quarter-finals. However, Jung-hwan’s story is considered the most heroic and controversial.